ReguPack

Projectname:
Novel moisture-regulating plastic packaging – with deliquescent salts in the polymer matrix – for suppressing condensation formation in packaged, moisture-sensitive products such as mushrooms and strawberries

Workgroup: Packaging Materials

Scientific Partners and Guidance:
Fraunhofer INstitute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV, Mr. S. Sängerlaub / Mr. M. Linke

IGF: 17609 N
Financing: BMWi
Duration: 2012-2015

International studies have shown that up to a third of agricultural products spoil before they reach the consumer due to incorrect post-harvest handling. There are further losses whilst the products are being stored by consumers. A key reason is often the high relative humidity in the packaging and the condensation of water. This arises in fresh products due to respiration and transpiration process and exacerbates the microbial spoiling.

It is desirable to have a packaging that either suppresses the formation of condensation or actively absorbs condensation that forms on the product or packaging material, without drying out the packaged goods.

The objective of the ReguPack project is to develop moisture-regulating packaging systems for products that rapidly spoil such as fruit berries and mushrooms. These costly products are particularly sensitive to moisture and only keep for a few days. It would be attractive for both retailers and consumers if the storage life could be prolonged.

In order to regulate the moisture, toxicologically harmless, deliquescent salts are directly incorporated into the packaging materials. They absorb any water that is produced within the packaging. For mushrooms and strawberries a relative humidity between 90% and 95% is optimal. In order to maintain the relative humidity in the packaging within a defined range, specific salts must be chosen. In order to adjust the water absorption capacity and kinetics, a variety of parameters can be varied such as the salt concentration, grain size, polymer matrix, and also process engineering steps during the manufacture of the packaging material.

The joint project is being undertaken by the Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV, which has expertise in packaging systems, and the Leibniz-Institut für Agrartechnik Potsdam-Bornim e.V. (ATB), which has expertise in fresh products.

The development of a novel moisture-regulating packaging material, which hitherto has not been available in the marketplace, will improve the competitiveness of SMEs by allowing them to serve specially adapted solutions for niche markets.

Documents

Minutes

The IGF project presented here by the Research Association of the Industrial Association for Food Technology and Packaging (IVLV e.V.) is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy via the AiF as part of the program for the promotion of industrial community research (IGF) based on a decision of the German Bundestag.

ReguPack

Forschungstitel:
Neuartige feuchteregulierende Kunststoff-Verpackungen – mit deliqueszenten Salzen in der Polymermatrix – zur Verhinderung von Kondensat am Beispiel nässeempfindlicher Champignons und Erdbeeren

Arbeitsgruppe: Verpackungsmaterialien

Forschungsstelle und wissenschaftliche Betreuung:

  1. Fraunhofer-Institut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV; Sven Sängerlaub
  2. Leibniz-Institut Agrartechnik, Potsdam; M. Linke

IGF-Vorhaben: 17609 N
Finanzierung: BMWi
Laufzeit: 2012-2015

In internationalen Studien wurde festgestellt, dass bis zu einem Drittel der Agrarprodukte durch unsachgemäße Handhabung nach der Ernte bereits verderben, bevor sie den Verbraucher erreichen. Beim Verbraucher kommt es zu weiteren Verlusten. Eine bedeutende Ursache ist die hohe relative Luftfeuchte und die Kondenswasserbildung in den Packungen. Diese entsteht bei Frischeprodukten durch Atmungs- und Transpirationsprozesse und induziert einen erhöhten mikrobiellen Verderb. Wünschenswert ist eine Verpackung, welche die Bildung von Kondensat verhindert bzw. auf dem Produkt oder der Verpackung gebildetes Kondensat aktiv absorbiert ohne allerdings die verpackten Güter auszutrocknen.

Das Projekt ReguPack fokussiert auf die Entwicklung feuchteregulierender Verpackungen am Beispiel besonders schnell verderbender Produkte wie Beerenobst und Pilze. Diese hochpreisigen Produkte sind besonders nässeempfindlich und dadurch nur wenige Tage haltbar. Eine Verlängerung ihrer Haltbarkeit ist sowohl für den Handel als auch für den Verbraucher lohnend.

Zur Regulierung der Feuchte werden direkt in das Verpackungsmaterial toxikologisch unbedenkliche, deliqueszente Salze eingearbeitet. Sie absorbieren Wasser, das in der Packung entsteht. Für Champignons und Erdbeeren ist eine relative Feuchte von 90 % bis 95 % optimal. Um die relative Feuchte in der Verpackung in einem definierten Bereich zu halten, wird die Auswahl der Salze angepasst. Zur Einstellung der Kapazität und Kinetik können verschiedene Parameter variiert werden wie z. B. Konzentration, Korngröße, die Polymermatrix oder verfahrenstechnische Prozessschritte bei der Herstellung des Verpackungsmaterials.

Das Projekt wird in enger Zusammenarbeit des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV mit seiner Kompetenz im Verpackungsbereich und dem Leibniz-Institut für Agrartechnik Potsdam-Bornim e.V. (ATB) mit seiner Expertise im Bereich Frischeprodukte bearbeitet.

Mit der Entwicklung eines neuartigen feuchteregulierenden Verpackungsmaterials, das bisher noch nicht auf dem Markt vorhanden ist, soll die Konkurrenzfähigkeit von klein- und mittelständischen Verpackungsunternehmen (KMUs) gestärkt werden, indem sie die Möglichkeit erhalten, Nischenmärkte mit speziell angepassten Lösungen zu bedienen.

Projektberichte

Sitzungsunterlagen

Das hier vorgestellte IGF-Vorhaben der Forschungsvereinigung Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung e.V. (IVLV e.V.) wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.