FreshCoat

Projectname:
Shelf life prolongation of fresh produce by functional edible Coating

Workgroup: Packaging materials

Scientific Partners and Guidance:
Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV, Dr. C. Hauser

IGF: 95 EN
Financing: BMWi
Duration: 2013-2015

Convenience foods are a rapidly growing market in Europe. Cut, ready-to-eat fruit and vegetables have an important share of this market. These products do, however, have a very limited shelf-life. In recent years there have been frequent cases of illness caused by ready-to-eat fresh produce such as salads and slices of melon. Micro-organisms are the biggest culprit here. These are spread by the cutting process and rapidly reproduce on the moist cut surfaces.

The objective of the FreshCoat project is to develop edible coatings for cut fresh products (e.g. melon, salads, bean shoots, and strawberries) in order to increase the shelf-life and improve food safety and quality. The coatings will be adapted to the requirements of specific products. The base materials will be natural edible biopolymers such as starch, cellulose, alginate, and chitosan. Added to these will be natural antimicrobial plant extracts such as bacteriocins and conventional preservatives.

Besides the coating functionality, the development work will also consider economic and sensory aspects. Furthermore, the coatings must be able to be applied using a viable industrial technology (spraying, immersion, vacuum infiltration). The design of the outer packaging for convenience products will also form part of the development work. The packaging must be economical, eco-friendly, and sustainable.

The research project will benefit consumers (enhanced food safety) and also producers and retailers because marketing and sales channels can be extended due to the prolonged product shelf-life.

The project work will involve close collaboration between the Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV and the Center of Bioimmobilisation and Innovative Packaging Materials at the West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szeczecin, Poland. The project will be coordinated by the Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung IVLV.

Project documents

Documents

Minutes

The IGF project presented here by the Research Association of the Industrial Association for Food Technology and Packaging (IVLV e.V.) is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action via the AiF as part of the program for the promotion of industrial community research (IGF) based on a decision of the German Bundestag.

FreshCoat

Forschungstitel:
Haltbarkeitsverlängerungen von frischen Obst- und Gemüseerzeugnissen durch funktionelle essbare Beschichtungen

Arbeitsgruppe: Verpackungsmaterialien

Forschungsstelle und wissenschaftliche Betreuung:
Fraunhofer

IGF-Vorhaben: 95 EN
Finanzierung: BMWi
Laufzeit: 2013-2015

Convenience-Lebensmittel sind in Europa ein stark wachsender Markt. Einen bedeutenden Anteil haben verzehrfertig zerkleinertes Obst und geschnittenes Gemüse. Diese Produkte haben eine sehr begrenzte Haltbarkeit. In den letzten Jahren kam es durch den Verzehr vorgefertigter Frischeprodukte, wie z. B. Schnittsalat oder Melonenscheiben, immer wieder zu gehäuften Krankheitsfällen. Die größte Rolle spielen hier Mikroorgansimen, die durch den Schneidprozess verteilt werden und sich dann an den feuchten Schnittflächen schnell weitervermehren können.

Das Ziel des Forschungsprojektes FreshCoat ist es, funktionelle essbare Beschichtungen für vorgeschnittene Frischeprodukte (wie frisch geschnittene Melone, Salat, Sprossen und Erdbeeren) zu entwickeln, um sowohl die Haltbarkeit als auch die Lebensmittelsicherheit und -qualität zu erhöhen. Die Beschichtungen sollen speziell an die Anforderungen des jeweiligen Produkts angepasst werden. Als Basismaterialien werden natürliche essbare Biopolymere gewählt, z. B. Stärke, Cellulose, Alginate oder Chitosan, das aus Krustentieren gewonnen wird. Hierzu können natürliche antimikrobiell wirksame Pflanzenextrakte sowie Bacteriocine und konventionelle Konservierungsmittel zugesetzt werden.

Neben der Funktionalität werden ökonomische wie auch sensorische Aspekte bei der Entwicklung berücksichtigt. Außerdem müssen die Beschichtungen in einer industriell umsetzbaren Technologie (Sprühtechnik, Tauchen, Vakuuminfiltration) aufgebracht werden können. Auch das Design der Umverpackungen der Convenience-Produkte fließt in die Forschungsarbeiten mit ein. Sie soll für den Handel ökonomisch wie auch umweltfreundlich und nachhaltig gestaltet werden.

Das Forschungsprojekt bringt sowohl für den Konsumenten hinsichtlich der Lebensmittelsicherheit Vorteile als auch für Produ-zenten und Handel, da Vermarktungswege und Absatzmöglichkeiten durch eine längere Produkthaltbarkeit ausgeweitet werden können.

Bearbeitet wird das Forschungsprojekt in enger Zusammenarbeit des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV und des Center of Bioimmobilisation and Innovative Packaging Materials der West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szeczecin, Polen, unter der Koordination der Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung IVLV.

Projektberichte

Sitzungsunterlagen

Das hier vorgestellte IGF-Vorhaben der Forschungsvereinigung Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung e.V. (IVLV e.V.) wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.