ExtruMiBi

Projectname:
Formulation and application of temperature-stable bio-based antimicrobial agents

Workgroup: Packaging Materials

Scientific Partners and Guidance:

  1. Fraunhofer-Institut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV; Sven Sängerlaub

IGF: 99 EN
Financiation: BMWi (CORNET)
Duration: 2013-2016

The shelf-life and safety of food products are often adversely affected by microbial spoiling. The packaging provides protection against contamination after the packing process. Packaging materials that contain antimicrobial agents are able to release these substances onto the surface of the packaged product and so provide additional protection against premature spoiling.

These antimicrobial agents are either applied to the packaging material surface or are incorporated into the polymer structure of the packaging material (e.g. silver in polypropylene (PP)). From a consumer standpoint, natural substances are preferred. Such natural substances include plant extracts. There is however a lack of knowledge about their suitability for extrusion processes which subject the substances to high temperatures and shear forces and can lead to their decomposition.

The objective of the ExtruMiBi project is to develop a sustainable antimicrobial packaging material containing plant extracts which can be manufactured using extrusion processes. This requires R&D work to be undertaken on novel combinations of materials. The challenge here is to combine materials such that they are compatible with manufacturing processes. Plant extracts are intrinsically thermally unstable. To ensure that the plant extracts do not lose their antimicrobial functionality during the processing, substances in the plant extracts that are thermally stable will be identified, extracted, and then processed. Additional protection for the active agents will be provided by micro-encapsulation.

The Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV is starting a series of tests on the antimicrobial effect of different substances. The process engineering steps (extrusion and coating) will be undertaken on the institute’s own equipment and will be optimized.

The project will be coordinated by the Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung e.V. (IVLV). Also involved in the project are the Centre de Recherche et de Contrôle agro-alimentaire, emballage, environnement, papetier et textile (CELABOR, Belgium) and the Association West Pomeranian Cluster “Green Chemistry” (GCC, Poland).

Project documents

Project Reports

Minutes

The IGF project presented here by the Research Association of the Industrial Association for Food Technology and Packaging (IVLV e.V.) is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy via the AiF as part of the program for the promotion of industrial community research (IGF) based on a decision of the German Bundestag.

ExtruMiBi

Forschungstitel:
Herstellung und Verarbeitung temperaturstabiler, biobasierter antimikrobieller Substanzen

Arbeitsgruppe: Verpackungsmaterialien

Forschungsstelle und wissenschaftliche Betreuung:
Fraunhofer-Institut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV; Sven Sängerlaub

IGF-Vorhaben: 99 EN
Finanzierung: BMWi (CORNET) Laufzeit: 2013-2016

Die Haltbarkeit und die Sicherheit eines Lebensmittels werden häufig durch mikrobiellen Verderb beschränkt. Verpackungen verhindern die Kontamination nach dem Abpackprozess. Eine Verpackung, die zudem antimikrobielle Substanzen enthält, kann diese an die Oberfläche des verpackten Produktes abgeben und es so zusätzlich schützen und vorzeitigen Verderb verhindern.

Die antimikrobiellen Substanzen sind entweder auf das Verpackungsmaterial aufgebracht oder in die Polymerstruktur des Verpackungsmaterials eingearbeitet wie z. B. Silber in Polypropylen (PP). Natürliche Substanzen werden aus Verbrauchersicht bevorzugt. Dazu zählen Pflanzenextrakte. Wenig untersucht ist bisher ihre Eignung für den Extrusionsprozess, bei dem die Substanzen hohen Temperaturen und Scherkräften ausgesetzt sind, die zu einem Abbau führen können.

Ziel des Projektes ExtruMiBi ist es, mit pflanzlichen Extrakten ein nachhaltiges antimikrobielles Verpackungsmaterial zu entwickeln, das durch Extrusion hergestellt werden kann. Dafür müssen neuartige Kombinationen von Materialien erforscht werden. Die Herausforderung dabei ist, Materialien so zu kombinieren, dass sie im Verarbeitungsprozess kompatibel sind. Pflanzliche Extrakte sind von Natur aus thermisch instabil. Damit die Extrakte ihre antimikrobielle Wirkung während der Verarbeitung nicht verlieren, sollen in den Pflanzenextrakten Substanzen identifiziert, extrahiert und danach verarbeitet werden, die thermisch stabil sind. Ein zusätzlicher Schutz der Wirkstoffe soll durch Mikroverkapselung erzielt werden.

Am Fraunhofer-Institut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV werden Testreihen zur antimikrobiellen Wirkung verschiedener Substanzen angesetzt. Die verfahrenstechnische Verarbeitung (Extrusion und Beschichtung) wird an institutseigenen Anlagen durchgeführt und durch die Entwicklung geeigneter Methoden optimiert.

Das Projekt wird von der Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung IVLV koordiniert. Am Projekt beteiligt sind zudem das Centre de Recherche et de Contrôle agroalimentaire, emballage, environnement, papetier et textile (CELABOR, Belgien) und die Association West Pomeranian Cluster “Green Chemistry” (GCC, Polen).

Projektberichte

Sitzungsunterlagen

Das hier vorgestellte IGF-Vorhaben der Forschungsvereinigung Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung e.V. (IVLV e.V.) wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.