Thermo-Fibre-Base

Projectname:
Consideration of temperature and humidity in the processing of fiber-based materials

Workgroup: Packaging materials

Research Partner and Scientific Guidance:

  1. Steinbeis-Hochschule Berlin gGmbH, Prof. Dr. Marek Hauptmann
  2. RWTH Aachen, Institut für Angewandte Mechanik, PD. Dr.-Ing Jaan-Willem Simon
  3. Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM, PD Dr. Heiko Andrä

IGF: 21863 N
Financing: BMWi
Duration: 2021 – 2023

Problem:
The processes for manufacturing and forming paper and board packaging, such as creasing, embossing and compression moulding, are used millions of times a day. Nevertheless, the design of tools, process control and optimisation are mostly based on empirical knowledge. Extensive scientific studies of the processes and the application of modern methods and simulations are still an exception in these applications. The informative value of simulative studies has so far been limited due to the complex deformation mechanisms in the fibre material and due to the intrinsic dynamic system of temperature and moisture that interacts with these deformation mechanisms. The low level of research is contrasted by constantly increasing demands on packaging. Shelf-life periods are being extended and product safety must be guaranteed. At the same time, packaging forms are becoming increasingly complex. In addition, consumers are placing higher demands on the environmental compatibility of packaging3 (Innventia AB 2013). The inadequate state of research is also an obstacle with regard to shifting process control and optimisation to the machines’ software. Algorithms for automated process control are based on empirical, semi-empirical, statistical or FE models. The latter are not yet sufficiently available for the forming processes in packaging production and processing of cardboard packaging. The basis for modelling, systematic troubleshooting in production and optimisation are reliable characteristic values for the mechanical and thermal characterisation of the packaging material. For metals and plastics, basic values can be taken from table books, as guide values have been measured and published for defined material compositions. In contrast, data sheets for paperboard usually only give values for thickness, bending stiffness, whiteness, moisture content after paper production, surface roughness and extensibility4 (cf. StoraEnso 2017). For further characteristic values, such as modulus of elasticity or shear modulus in the respective directions, there is usually no information and also no table books or databases that users could refer to.

Solution:
The basis for this is provided by a systematic characterisation of the material properties for selected board grades. This material characterisation as a function of moisture and temperature is still a great challenge today and is associated with a high level of effort that cannot be borne by SMEs. Within the framework of the present project, two complementary strategies are pursued for characterisation. On the one hand, experimental investigations are carried out under controlled humidity and temperature conditions in order to record the material behaviour under the various boundary conditions. On the other hand, based on the hypothesis that moisture and temperature transport processes are determined by the microstructure, these experimental investigations are supplemented by microstructure simulations on fibre networks. In this way, the necessary in-depth understanding of the transport processes at the level of the fibre networks can be gained, and parameters for the heat and moisture transport can be derived, which in part cannot be determined experimentally. At the same time, the research risk associated with the experimental set-ups can be minimised. The material characterisation is carried out with regard to the requirements of an FEM material model to be developed, but should also serve users as a basis for empirical and semi-empirical models. Currently, the combined influences of temperature and humidity and their interactions cannot be represented in FEM models. An essential sub-goal of the project is therefore the development of an FEM material model for the simulation of the mechanical behaviour of cardboard in manufacturing processes with consideration of the combined influences of temperature and humidity on the mechanical properties. For the calibration, the experimentally and simulatively obtained results of the material characterisation are used. The validation of the model is done by calculating different load scenarios containing combinations of in-plane and out-of-plane loads with different moisture and temperature values. Finally, the FEM material model developed and calibrated in this way is used in process simulations of forming processes. This not only ensures the applicability of the approach to problems with industrial relevance, but also allows initial indications to be derived as to how the processes under consideration can be optimised in the future. Through an improved understanding of material behaviour, the project results should enable material manufacturers, mechanical engineers, toolmakers and material refiners to use the material in a targeted and efficient manner and to already include it in the development of new packaging and machines and to make the associated challenges but also development potential visible at an early stage. The associated minimisation of the use of plastics in optimal functional synthesis with paper or cardboard contributes to solving the challenge of resource and disposal problems for society as a whole.

Aim of the project:
The overall objective of the project is the process optimisation and targeted process control of manufacturing processes with cardboard and paper, taking into account material moisture and material temperature. Furthermore, the THERMO-FIBRE-BASE project is to contribute to providing a model basis for forming and joining processes of paper and cardboard in order to be able to simulatively support the development of new moulded parts, especially packaging, in the future. It specifically addresses the influence of the material’s own moisture content, which varies volatilely in transport and storage processes, and its influence on the properties in the manufacturing process, which is difficult to control in production. Microstructure simulation is used to characterise the course of the temperature-moisture development in the dynamic process and to provide conditions for the structural-mechanical experiments, as well as characteristic values for integration into the macroscopic FE modelling. A model basis is created as well as a method for the adaptation of its parameterisation by modified experiments, which take the moisture and temperature influence into account. The aim is to make the influence of moisture in the processing process, e.g. with regard to heat conduction, vapour development and reduction of strength and stiffness, more tangible for the industry partners, so that process regimes (processing times, temperatures) can be used in a more targeted manner and already taken into account in the development of new products (materials, packaging and machines).

The IGF project presented here by the Research Association of the Industrial Association for Food Technology and Packaging (IVLV e.V.) is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy via the AiF as part of the program for the promotion of industrial community research (IGF) based on a decision of the German Bundestag.

Thermo-Fibre-Base

Forschungstitel:
Berücksichtigung von Temperatur und Feuchte bei Verarbeitungsprozessen faserbasierter Materialien

Arbeitsgruppe: Verpackungsmaterialien

Forschungsstelle und wissenschaftliche Betreuung:

  1. Steinbeis-Hochschule Berlin gGmbH, Prof. Dr. Marek Hauptmann
  2. RWTH Aachen, Institut für Angewandte Mechanik, PD. Dr.-Ing Jaan-Willem Simon
  3. Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM, PD Dr. Heiko Andrä

IGF-Vorhaben: 21863 N
Finanzierung: BMWi
Laufzeit: 2021 – 2023

Problemstellung:
Die Prozesse zur Herstellung und Umformung von Verpackungen aus Papier und Karton wie z. B. Rillen, Prägen und Pressformen, werden täglich millionenfach angewendet. Dennoch beruhen die Auslegung von Werkzeugen, Prozessregelung und Optimierung zumeist auf Erfahrungswissen. Umfangreiche wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen der Prozesse und die Anwendung von modernen Methoden und Simulationen stellen in diesen Anwendungen noch immer eine Ausnahme dar. Die Aussagekraft simulativer Studien ist bislang aufgrund der komplexen Formänderungsmechanismen im Fasermaterial und durch das intrinsische dynamische System von Temperatur und Feuchte, das mit diesen Formänderungsmechanismen in Wechselwirkung steht, begrenzt. Dem geringen Forschungsstand stehen ständig steigende Anforderungen an Verpackungen gegenüber. Mindesthaltbarkeitszeiträume werden erweitert und die Produktsicherheit muss garantiert werden. Gleichzeitig werden die Verpackungsformen zunehmend komplexer. Zudem stellen Verbraucher höhere Anforderungen an die Umweltverträglichkeit der Verpackung1 (Innventia AB 2013). Der mangelhafte Forschungsstand stellt auch im Hinblick auf die Verlagerung von Prozessregelung und Optimierung in die Softwaren der Maschinen ein Hindernis dar. Algorithmen zur automatisierten Prozessregelung beruhen auf empirischen, semi-empirischen, statistischen oder FE-Modellen. Letztere stehen für die Formprozesse in der Verpackungsherstellung und Verarbeitung von Kartonagen bislang nicht hinreichend zur Verfügung. Die Grundlage für die Modellierung, systematisches Troubleshooting in der Produktion und Optimierung stellen verlässliche Kennwerte zur mechanischen und thermischen Charakterisierung des Packstoffs dar. Für Metalle und Kunststoffe können grundlegende Werte aus Tabellenbüchern entnommen werden, da für definierte Materialzusammensetzungen Richtwerte gemessen und publiziert wurden. In Datenblättern von Karton werden dagegen üblicherweise nur Werte für Dicke, Biegesteifigkeit, Weiße, Feuchtegehalt nach Papierproduktion, Oberflächenrauheit und Dehnbarkeit angegeben2 (StoraEnso 2017). Für weitere Kennwerte, wie E-Moduln oder Schubmoduln in den jeweiligen Richtungen, gibt es meist keine Angaben und auch keine Tabellenbücher oder Datenbanken, auf die Anwender zurückgreifen könnten.

Lösungsweg:
Die Basis dafür liefert eine systematische Charakterisierung der Material-eigenschaften für ausgewählte Kartonsorten. Diese Materialcharakterisierung in Abhängigkeit von Feuchte und Temperatur stellt heute noch eine große Herausforderung dar und ist mit hohem Aufwand verbunden, der in KMUs nicht getragen werden kann. Im Rahmen des vorliegenden Projekts werden zur Charakterisierung zwei sich ergänzende Strategien verfolgt. Zum einen werden experimentelle Untersuchungen bei kontrollierten Feuchte- und Temperatur-bedingungen durchgeführt, um das Materialverhalten bei den verschiedenen Randbedingungen zu erfassen. Zum anderen werden – basierend auf der Hypothese, dass Feuchte- und Temperaturtransportprozesse durch die Mikrostruktur bestimmt werden – diese experimentellen Untersuchungen durch Mikrostruktursimulationen an Fasernetzwerken ergänzt. Dadurch kann das notwendige, tiefgreifende Verständnis der Transportprozesse auf der Ebene der Fasernetzwerke gewonnen, sowie Parameter für den Wärme- und Feuchtetransport abgeleitet werden, welche zum Teil experimentell nicht erfassbar sind. Gleichzeitig kann dadurch das mit den experimentellen Aufbauten verbundene Forschungsrisiko minimiert werden. Die Material-charakterisierung wird im Hinblick auf die Anforderungen eines zu entwickelnden FEM-Materialmodells durchgeführt, soll Nutzern aber auch als Grundlage für empirische und semi-empirische Modelle dienen. Derzeit können in FEM-Modellen die kombinierten Einflüsse von Temperatur und Feuchte und deren Wechselwirkungen nicht abgebildet werden. Ein wesentliches Teilziel des Projektes ist daher die Entwicklung eines FEM-Materialmodells zur Simulation des mechanischen Verhaltens von Karton in Verarbeitungsprozessen mit Betrachtung der kombinierten Einflüsse von Temperatur und Feuchte auf die mechanischen Eigenschaften. Für die Kalibrierung werden die experimentell und simulativ gewonnen Ergebnisse der Materialcharakterisierung herangezogen. Die Validierung des Modells erfolgt durch Berechnung unterschiedlicher Lastszenarien, die Kombinationen von in-plane und out-of-plane Belastungen mit verschiedenen Feuchte- und Temperaturwerten enthalten. Schließlich wird das derart entwickelte und kalibrierte FEM-Materialmodell in Prozesssimulationen von Umformprozessen eingesetzt. Dadurch wird nicht nur die Anwendbarkeit der Vorgehensweise auf Probleme mit industrieller Relevanz sichergestellt, sondern es können auch erste Hinweise abgeleitet werden, wie zukünftig die betrachteten Prozesse optimiert werden können. Die Projektergebnisse sollen Materialhersteller, Maschinenbauer, Werkzeugbauer und Materialveredler durch verbessertes Verständnis des Materialverhaltens in die Lage versetzen, das Material zielsicher und effizient einzusetzen und bereits in die Entwicklung neuer Verpackungen und Maschinen einzubeziehen und die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen aber auch Entwicklungspotentiale frühzeitig sichtbar zu machen. Die damit einhergehende Minimierung des Einsatzes von Kunststoffen in optimaler Funktionssynthese mit Papier bzw. Karton leistet einen Beitrag zur Lösung der gesamtgesellschaftlichen Herausforderung der Ressourcen- und Entsorgungsproblematik.

Ziel des Vorhabens:
Übergeordnetes Projektziel ist die Prozessoptimierung und gezielte Prozessregelung von Verarbeitungsprozessen mit Karton und Papier unter Berücksichtigung von Materialfeuchte und Materialtemperatur. Des Weiteren soll das Projekt THERMO-FIBRE-BASE dazu beitragen eine Modellbasis für Umform- und Fügevorgänge von Papier und Karton bereitzustellen, um die Entwicklung neuer Formteile, insbesondere Verpackungen, zukünftig simulativ stützen zu können. Es greift speziell den Einfluss der in Transport- und Lagervorgängen volatil variierenden Größe des materialeigenen Feuchteanteils und seines in der Produktion schwer kontrollierbaren Einflusses auf die Eigenschaften im Verarbeitungsprozess auf. Durch Mikrostruktursimulation werden der Verlauf der Temperatur-Feuchteentwicklung im dynamischen Prozess gekennzeichnet und Bedingungen für die strukturmechanischen Experimente, sowie Kennwerte zur Einbindung in die makroskopische FE-Modellierung geliefert. Es entsteht eine Modellbasis sowie eine Methode zur Anpassung seiner Parametrierung durch modifizierte Experimente, die den Feuchte- und Temperatureinfluss berücksichtigen. Ziel ist es, den Einfluss der Feuchte im Verarbeitungsprozess z. B. in Bezug auf Wärmeleitung, Dampfentwicklung sowie Verringerung der Festigkeit und Steifigkeit für die Industriepartner besser greifbar zu machen, damit Prozessregime (Verarbeitungszeiten, -temperaturen) gezielter genutzt und bereits in der Entwicklung neuer Produkte (Materialien, Verpackungen und Maschinen) berücksichtigt werden können.

Das hier vorgestellte IGF-Vorhaben der Forschungsvereinigung Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung e.V. (IVLV e.V.) wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.