AMOR

Projectname:
AMaranth as source of Omega fatty acids and gluten free grains: Marker-assisted bReeding and cultivar selection to obtain functional healthy oils and raw materials for food-processing (AMOR)

Workgroup: Plant-derived Food Proteins

Scientific Partners and Guidance:

  1. Universität Hohenheim, Institut für Kulturpflanzenwissenschaften, Prof. Dr. Simone Graeff-Hönninger
  2. Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Botanisches Institut, Prof. Dr. Peter Nick

IGF: 267 EN
Financing: BMWi
Duration: 2020 – 2021

Amaranth grains fulfill the criteria of gluten free and harbour a valuable oil composed of a balanced mix of unsaturated fatty acids. Of special nutritional interest is the Omega 3-fatty acid DHA, which is produced by algae and fungi, but only by few plants. DHA is essential for humans, and has to be taken up through the food chain. Currently, amaranth is hardly cultivated in Germany, and commercial sources originate from Latin America/ Peru with variable and undefined quality and identity. The unique properties of amaranth open perspectives as sources of functional foods, meeting consumer demands in favour of nutritious and healthy products. However, out of ~3000 amaranth accessions in Peru, only major agronomic traits (e.g. yield, growing period) have been assessed and information on their nutritional benefits is largely missing.

This project strives to develop the potential of amaranth as commercial source for functional foods by exploitation of genetic resources and development of suitable oil extraction and stabilization technologies. Partial objectives are to i) characterize the genetic diversity of amaranth to identify promising genotypes with high DHA levels and excellent nutritional profiles, ii) develop molecular markers for marker-assisted breeding, iii) cultivate promising genotypes in field trials evaluating the impact of management and environment on fatty acids and grain quality iv) tailor the oil extraction processes with respect to yield, quality, and stability besides increasing the oil stability with edible oils to increase shelf life.

The identification of promising amaranth varieties in terms of their functional properties can help food manufacturers to open up markets with future potential. Optimal processing of amaranth grains and oils can help to create high-quality oils and raw materials as the basis for efficient food production processes.

Overall the project will improve the application of amaranth as high value ingredient and contribute to expand its consumption. Plant breeders can improve their breeding programs towards cultivars with a shorter time to market and improved properties as functional foods. This will help production chain managers to advice farmers in growing amaranth cultivars demanded by the industry.

The IGF project presented here by the Research Association of the Industrial Association for Food Technology and Packaging (IVLV e.V.) is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy via the AiF as part of the program for the promotion of industrial community research (IGF) based on a decision of the German Bundestag.

AMOR

Forschungstitel:
Amarant als Quelle für Omega-Fettsäuren und glutenfreie Körner: Markergestützte Züchtung und Sortenauswahl zur Gewinnung funktioneller gesunder Öle und Rohstoffe für die Lebensmittelverarbeitung

Arbeitsgruppe: Pflanzliche Lebensmittel

Forschungsstelle und wissenschaftliche Betreuung:

  1. Universität Hohenheim, Institut für Kulturpflanzenwissenschaften, Prof. Dr. Simone Graeff-Hönninger
  2. Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Botanisches Institut, Prof. Dr. Peter Nick

IGF-Vorhaben: 267 EN
Finanzierung: BMWi
Laufzeit: 2020 – 2021

Amarantkörner sind glutenfrei und enthalten ein hochwertiges Öl, das aus einer ausgewogenen Mischung ungesättigter Fettsäuren besteht. Von besonderem Interesse für die Ernährungsindustrie ist die Omega-3-Fettsäure DHA, die vorwiegend von Algen und Pilzen, aber nur von wenigen Pflanzen produziert wird. DHA ist essentiell für den Menschen und muss über die Nahrung aufgenommen werden. Bislang wird Amarant in Deutschland kaum angebaut und in erster Linie aus Lateinamerika / Peru mit unterschiedlicher Qualität importiert. Die nutritiven Eigenschaften von Amarant eröffnen Perspektiven für funktionelle Lebensmittel und erfüllen die Verbraucheransprüche an gesundheitsfördernde Produkte. Von ~3000 Amarant-Akzessionen in Peru wurden bislang nur wenige agronomische Merkmale (z.B. Ertrag, Vegetationsdauer) bewertet. Informationen über ihre ernährungsphysiologischen Vorteile fehlen weitgehend.

Dieses Projekt untersucht das Potenzial von Amarant als kommerzielle Quelle für funktionelle Lebensmittel durch die Nutzung genetischer Ressourcen und die Entwicklung geeigneter Technologien zur Ölgewinnung und –stabilisierung. Teilziele sind i) Charakterisierung der genetischen Vielfalt von Amarant zur Identifizierung vielversprechender Genotypen mit hohen DHA-Gehalten und ausgezeichneten Nährstoffprofilen, ii) Entwicklung molekularer Marker für markergestützte Züchtung, iii) Anbau verschiedener Genotypen in Feldversuchen zur Bewertung der Auswirkungen von Management und Umwelt auf das Fettsäureprofil, iv) Anpassung der Ölextraktionsverfahren in Bezug auf Ausbeute, Qualität und Stabilität bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung der Ölstabilität.

Die Identifizierung vielversprechender Amarantsorten hinsichtlich ihrer funktionellen Eigenschaften kann Lebensmittelherstellern helfen, Märkte mit Zukunftspotenzial zu erschließen. Eine optimale Verarbeitung von Amarantkörnern und -ölen kann dazu beitragen, hochwertige Öle und Rohstoffe als Grundlage für effiziente Lebensmittelproduktionsprozesse zu schaffen. Das Projekt trägt zur Förderung des Einsatzes von Amarant in verschiedenen Lebensmittelprodukten bei. Pflanzenzüchter können Züchtungsprogramme auf Sorten mit verbesserten Inhaltsstoffen ausrichten. Landwirte können gezielt hinsichtlich von der Industrie geforderter Amarantsorten beraten werden.
Artikel in den IVLV Nachrichten! 01-2020

Das hier vorgestellte IGF-Vorhaben der Forschungsvereinigung Industrievereinigung für Lebensmitteltechnologie und Verpackung e.V. (IVLV e.V.) wird über die AiF im Rahmen des Programms zur Förderung der Industriellen Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages gefördert.

Aktuelle Termine zu diesem Projekt